The Lake House Mysteries - by - IC Enger
Blue ICE
"International intrigue abounds in the lake house at Three Cranes Lake."Blue Ice
I.C. Enger
Reviewed by Tanzey Cutter
Posted January 9, 2013
Brooke Breckenridge is looking for a fresh start when she leaves Seattle. Her destination is a house on Three Cranes Lake, located in a valley near the Cascade Mountains bordering Canada. What Brooke thought would be a restful place for her to relax soon turns into an explosive and dangerous situation. The neighbors on each side seem to be very nice people, but she's there only two days when vandals break in, tossing the place looking for something, though nothing is missing.
Enter HSI Special Agent Jack Stickland, a friend of Will Coreman, owner of the house and a retired communications expert for ICE, who has a room full of computer and electronics equipment. Will sent Jack a message that he'd uncovered something strange and wanted him to come to the lake house, but now Will is missing. Being this close to the Canadian border, it could involve anything from drug smuggling to human trafficking to terrorism. When Jack brings in Agent Ed Red Wind to assist with the electronics, he ascertains there could even be Chinese involvement.
Brooke is less than forthcoming in disclosing her past, which makes Jack suspicious. Her actions are subject to misinterpretation with just too many odd, unexplained coincidences. Brooke seems to be the common denominator in a series of seemingly unrelated events, with each explanation bringing about even more questions from Jack. Is Brooke a suspect or a victim? She's quickly become a big complication in Jack's investigation, in more ways than one.
The small town in BLUE ICE by I.C. Enger is anything but tranquil. Though Brooke is a novice at investigating, she shows a lot of deductive skills. The interesting premise of exactly what's going on at the lake house is an intriguing new take on bio-terrorism and scary in how easily it could happen in today's world.
______________________________________________________________
Amazon.com
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mystery Read September 3, 2012
Format:Paperback
This novel, set in Washington, resonates with familiar scenes for me. The plot line develops in a way that keeps you reading. The story is contemporary and addresses some current themes of international intrigue. I was so into the book, that I hated to have it end. The ending promises a future book out there. Let's hope so, as this author's first book should not be the last! The interaction between personalities leaves you wanting to know more about their future adventures together.
_____________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars Northwest mystery October 13, 2012
Format:Paperback
Just loved this book. I found myself intrigued with the special ops details and the character development was superb. I can't wait for the next two books to see how all the clues in Blue Ice will develop in the storyline. A real page turner.
____________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read,
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue Ice (Paperback)
I'm sorry you don't have six stars. This was a very good book and a real page turner. The villain did not become apparent until the very end of the book. The actions of the agents involved were technically correct. I should know because I was a Special Agent for many years. This book deals with bioterrorism and a premise is accurate. I would recommend this book to both male and female readers. I look forward to reading Green Ice, the second book in the trilogy of books about homeland security.
______________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars Northwest mystery,
By Lampshade "Lampshade" (Bellevue, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Ice (Paperback)
Just loved this book. I found myself intrigued with the special ops details and the character development was superb. I can't wait for the next two books to see how all the clues in Blue Ice will develop in the storyline. A real page turner.
______________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars Homespun in the best sense.,
This review is from: Blue Ice (Paperback)
I did not want to finish this book knowing the second in the trilogy isn't out yet. I really enjoyed getting to know the characters and look forward to their return. It was an enjoyable read from beginning to end.
_____________________________________________________________
Great Mystery Read,
This review is from: Blue Ice (Paperback)
This novel, set in Washington, resonates with familiar scenes for me. The plot line develops in a way that keeps you reading. The story is contemporary and addresses some current themes of international intrigue. I was so into the book, that I hated to have it end. The ending promises a future book out there. Let's hope so, as this author's first book should not be the last! The interaction between personalities leaves you wanting to know more about their future adventures together.


Fast and fun read October 25, 2013

This author has voice!! Her character development is superb. I felt like I knew Brooke so well but had no idea what adventure/danger she would be in next. This novel was suspenseful, full if intrigue, humor, and surprises. I could hardy put it down and can't wait for the 3rd book in the Lakeside Series.

 
Randy reviewed Blue Ice

1 of 1 people found the following helpful

An Excellent Read October 14, 2012
I'm sorry you don't have six stars. This was a very good book and a real page turner. The villain did not become apparent until the very end of the book. The actions of the agents involved were technically correct. I should know because I was a Special Agent for many years. This book deals with bioterrorism and a premise is accurate. I would recommend this book to both male and female readers. I look forward to reading Green Ice
 
 
Green ICE
 
I.C. Enger has done it again with Green ICE, the second book in the Lake House Mysteries series. She engages and holds the reader's attention to the riveting climax. She takes Brooke to places you don't want her to go. You want Brooke to stay put, to play it safe, and then she is off again letting her curiosity carry her into danger.     J. Strom
 
 
 
Brooke and Jack are back and the intrigue continues.  The tension between Jack, trying to do the job at which he excels, and Brooke, the femme fatale that finds herself unwittingly involved, result in an exciting journey for the reader.  The dialog and story line are excellent and the reader finds the characters beautifully developed to the extent that it's hard to put the book down. The links in storylines between Blue ICE and Green ICE create a well-researched glimpse into a world of special agents that is little known to the average citizen. The reader is entertained and educated at the same time.  Really great read. Can't wait for "Black Ice".
 
Mary Kenny



! Diane Romero reviewed Green Ice (A Lake House Mystery Book 2)Great book February 22, 2014 Great book, plenty of suspense to keep me on the edge of my seat. I can't wait for the next one!


Carolyn reviewed Green Ice

Brooke, Jack and Ed on another great mystery adventure! August 28, 2013
I enjoyed reading Ms. Enger's first novel 'Blue Ice', and I hated to see that one end. So I was eagerly awaiting the next book featuring this dynamic trio, and was not disappointed in 'Green Ice'.

A very readable book that engages you quickly in the mysteries that Brooke finds herself intrigued with. Brooke makes lists, asks anyone and everyone questions, pushing the envelope as she works toward the solution.



! Bob Doerr reviewed Green Ice1 of 1 people found the following helpful A Fun Read! August 23, 2013 This was a very enjoyable and quick read. The author has developed an excellent setting for both of her Lake House Mysteries, and in Brooke Breckenridge she has created the "younger Miss Marple." Highly recommended!


Great read August 4, 2013

Excellent character development - makes you really care about Brooke and Jack. Great insight into special agents and their profession.



R. Glickman reviewed Green Ice

Great Story with a twisty ending August 2, 2013
This novel picks up one year after Blue Ice with the same set of characters: Brook Breckinridge, Jack Strickland, and Ed Red Wind. These three are like putting on a favorite set of slippers. The author has created a trio who are comfortable with each other.



I read this book in two sittings-wanted to know what was going to happen, and the author easily swept me along! What I liked were the setting, and the lake and Washington Canadian border were nicely drawn-especially for someone who used to live in the area. Mainly I liked the characters. Was rooting for heroine (Brooke) from the very beginning. Also liked several supporting characters like Ed Red Wing and Sister Josephine quite a bit. I also liked how more than one element were brought together--amateur sleuth, police procedure, a touch of thriller, a touch of romance... And the author clearly knew what she was talking about when it came to law enforcement elements. Very enjoyable read, recommend, and I hope I.C. writes sequels. It's a series I'd definitely follow!



Black ICE


Black Ice is extremely dangerous because it appears invisible. Proceed with caution!
This exciting novel by I.C. Enger is an exhilarating rush for your mind. Enger does an awesome job of igniting the sensory elements and the development of her characters. He paints each scene so vividly that I felt as though I was watching a movie. Black Ice is loaded with many twists and turns, which is a key component for keeping me riveted to a book and my comfortable sofa. I barely released the book too... well let's leave that alone. (wink)
Black Ice has a well-crafted storyline, plot and rising action. It all finishes with a great resolution.
All of the characters possess strong personalities and play their position with powerful intrigue. They were splendid.
Jack Strickland and Brooke Breckenridge are Special Agents as well as partners. They have a keen sense of critical reasoning and methods for uncovering the smallest details of a case to bring closure to each case they investigate. My favorite character in this gripping narrative is Ranger, an intelligent, caring and faithful member of the team. Ranger is a Belgian Malinois with a heart of gold and loyalty.
Neighbors and friends of Brooke and Jack are caring and curious. A former NASA agent, Marty, a scientific genius, fishes in the lake frequently and finds something that piques his curiosity not to mention that of some government specialists. As a result things become a bit slippery on the lake that shimmers like ice. Marty is unsure of the item he located. The events after that discovery are then pumped up several notches incorporating the wild ride creating ripples and waves of many unexpected directions.
The supporting characters of Black Ice are well developed making it is easy for Ms. Enger's audience to form a bond with them. She generously poured realism upon their personalities. She adds additional spice with the elements of science fiction segments in the pot.
This is my introduction to Ms. Enger and her characters. Black Ice is the third book in her series however Ms. Enger includes enough backstory making Black Ice an amazing thrilling ride as a standalone novel. I really enjoyed Black Ice and Ms. Enger's writing style therefore, I will locate the earlier novels while I await for the next installment.


Oct 07, 2015Billie Johnson rated it 4 of 5 stars
Another exciting adventure in the Pacific Northwest! This, the third LAKE HOUSE MYSTERY, has Brooke trying to solve they mysterious disappearance of her neighbor while performing parental duties for her stepsister. All bets are off when she is kidnapped, however, and Brooke focuses on learning the reasons why she was nabbed and executing an escape.
A good fast read, with just enough threads hanging at the end (including maybe a shift in Brooke and jack's relationship!) to create anticipation for the next Lake House Mystery!


Rita's Recent Updates
Rita rated a book 5 of 5 stars

read in October, 2015
My rating:

At last! Brooke Breckenridge and Jack Strickland return in Black Ice.
In terms of writing style, this is the best of the three books thus far. The writing is tighter and the story is more focused. I.C.Enger has again created characters that we care about. This third book in the series also brings a maturing of the relationship between Jack and Brooke. Both are more focused in their approaches to each other. A new character, Dakota, who is Brooke’s step-sister is also added to the family of characters in the book.
In Black Ice, a next door neighbor and former NASA employee discovers a silver ball at the bottom of Three Cranes Lake. This ball comes from somewhere outside of the planet and is the object of many governments’ attempts to retrieve it. Along the way, there are mishaps and accidents involving several of the players who are attempting to protect, and discover, what the ball means. What it means is never explained, but the ball is left in good keeping with a shadow group of survivalists.
Will there be further adventures of Jack and Brooke? Will they need to help of the survivalists? Who controls the ball? And who kidnapped Brooke Breckenridge? The author does leave the door open.



 
Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint